Updates from the darkroom

Dobbins Lane

Dobbins Lane

There’s been a lack of activity on my blog but not in the darkroom.   It’s been a very long and cold winter here in Pennsylvania but that gave me time to work on several projects in the darkroom.   The large custom sizes of both Dobbins Lane and Primeval Forest were purchased by Capitol One for their Corporate Art Collection.    In March I was one of 150 photographers out of 2000 applicants selected for the New York Times Portfolio Review which was held April 5 in Manhattan.  I was able to have my work reviewed by a number of top editors and gallery owners and will have updates on what comes out of those meetings in the near future.

Yesterday I found out that my photograph of the coal miner Farmer Bob is a finalist for the Royal Photographic Society’s International Print Competition.   I’ll be sending the actual silver gelatin print to England in a few weeks for the final judging.  I’m also printing the images which will be hung for my solo exhibition at the Hoyt Center for Fine Arts in New Castle, PA this summer.

Farmer Bob

Farmer Bob

 

 

About Joel Anderson

Fine-art photographer using traditional wet darkroom techniques and film cameras
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.